Sevilla wins sixth Europa League championship

On Thursday in Budapest, Sevilla's goalkeeper Bono saved two penalty kicks to win the Europa League championship.

On Thursday, June 1, Sevilla won the Europa League championship after goalkeeper Bono saved two penalty kicks in the penalty shootout at the Puskas Arena in Budapest.

Both teams struggled throughout the first half due to multiple fouls. Xinhua reported that Roma's Leonardo Spinazzola challenged Sevilla's goalie 12 minutes into the encounter.

Sevilla, Europa League record champions, failed to break Roma's defense. After a counterattack, Gianluca Mancini's through pass enabled Paulo Dybala to score 35 minutes into the game.

Sevilla responded impressively and almost equalized before halftime, but Fernando's header from Ivan Rakitic's corner kick missed.

In the last minutes of the first half, experienced midfielder Rakitic hit the post with a 20-meter hammer.

Sevilla's Alex Telles wasted another good chance after the break, changing the momentum. Mancini's own goal 10 minutes into the second half equalized the score for Sevilla.

Bono saved Tammy Abraham's close-range attempt in the 67th minute. After 10 minutes, Anthony Taylor overturned Sevilla's penalty.

After a free kick, Bono denied Andrea Belotti from close range. At the opposite end, Suso and Fernando couldn't overtake Rui Patricio quickly.

"Enjoy this moment. Sevilla's sixth championship. It feels amazing. Sevilla proved itself again. Rakitic said, "This is our Europa League."



More Stories